Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World

<p>Take this chance to get beyond the abstract dates and figures, kings and queens, and battles and wars that make up so many historical accounts in <strong>The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World</strong>. In 48 richly detailed lectures, Professor Robert Garland of Colgate University covers the breadth and depth of human history from the perspective of the so-called ordinary people, from its earliest beginnings through the Middle Ages. The past truly comes alive in this ambitious course, as Professor Garland takes a series of imaginative leaps to put you inside the world of history's anonymous citizens, providing you with a fuller understanding of the distant past. </p>
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
3
"9210984%of reviewers would recommend this series to a friend."
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Review 1 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Course Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Depressing Topic and Static Presentation
Date:August 25, 2015
" Of many courses (DVD and audio format), this is my least favorite DVD series. I would give it away, but I can't think of anyone who would want it. The extreme lack of additional visual information is one of the downfalls, but mostly it is the presentational style of the professor. Didactic, dry, and - in a very long series - just poor. The continual pacing back and forth was an effort to give the presentation some movement and some camera variety -- and it helped a bit, but even that quickly became static, repetitive, and another predictable element. For those who say this is one of the best history series, I would encourage you to try others... many are much better.
This is a topic which is rarely treated in this depth, and for that rarity and the comprehensive way it is treated, it raised my ratings from absolute zero into being somewhat worthwhile. If this is one of the nation's best teachers, I feel sorry for college students... read the book, don't attend the lectures.
To be fair, this is one seriously depressing topic. The everyday lives of poor and disenfranchised people throughout history becomes an extremely long theme and variations on how horribly people treat each other, and the torments and deprivation of "unimportant" members of society (usually women#, and the even worse lives of slaves. I did watch the entire series #eventually), and I can honestly say this is the only Great Courses series I've purchased where I wanted my money and time back. "
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely enjoyable and moving series
Date:August 7, 2015
" I snatched up this course the moment it appeared in my catalog. History, while a fascinating subject I enjoy very much, has always been a trial for me. This course offers everything I dearly wished all my Greek and Roman history classes in university had included--what life was *like* "back then"--especially from those erased from history. Robert Garland does a phenomenal job not only presenting basic information such as what people wore, where they lived, what they ate, etc., but also what their mindsets were, what their backgrounds and cultural expectations were. My other classes consisted very much of statements such as " ...and Athenian women were sequestered in the house and never allowed to go outside or show their faces. Let's move on to Aristotle!". Robert Garland speculates humorously that a young Greek girl may well have longed for the death of "Uncle Meletas" or "Aunt Melpomene" just for the chance to go the funeral--one of the very few times she would been allowed to mix with the greater population. And his recount of Plato's "Symposium" is absolutely hilarious.
At any rate, this is a fantastic course, highly enjoyable and interesting, truly giving unsung credit to what is essentially *us*--regular people, living lives. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Course Content
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Professor Presentation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For adults
Date:July 13, 2015
" I purchased this course for my high school homeschoolers. We learned some interesting information, but I was very disappointed in the unnecessary bad language in some of the lessons. We skipped through the woman's lessons due to some of the subject matters. "
-25points
1out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BGZRedux
Princeton, NJ
Top 10 Contributor
?
Posted July 17, 2015
I would sincerely be interested in learning what you are referring to, given that I found this course to be outstanding and wonderful.
+9points
9out of 9found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Review 4 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vermont
My new favorite!
Date:July 11, 2015
" We have always considered the courses taught by Robert Greenberg to be the best of the Great Courses, but we now have a new favorite - Professor Garland. He is a fantastic teacher - his presentation keeps your attention fully. He has so much fascinating information to share, and does so with a sense of humor. He is a fantastic teacher. We highly recommend this course. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Content
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Professor Presentation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Course Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Detroit
Great Topic, but Many Mistakes were Made
Date:June 17, 2015
" The Other Side of History is a great topic, and Robert Garland seems to be a sincere person. However, Dr. Garland makes so many mistakes that it makes me wonder if I should believe anything that he says. I will give a few examples.
One of these examples is the Trial of Socrates. Socrates had a long history of opposition to democracy. This had been amusing to Athenians when the Democracy was strong, but things changed after the Peloponnesian War when Socrates followers were able to overthrow the Democracy, and put themselves (known as the 30 tyrants) in power under Plato's uncle Crito. Socrates followers had overthrown the Democracy by a policy of assassination and intimidation. They had murdered the middle class leader Thrasybulus, and they had driven his lieutenant, Anytus, into exile. After the Democracy was restored, Socrates was put on trial. One of the charges was that he did not recognize the Gods of Athens: Hephaestus and Athena (who both represented craftsman and artisans). This charge was brought because of Socrates opposition to allowing craftsman, artisans, and other middle class people to vote. Dr. Garland does not seem to know who Anytus was, and he somehow thinks that the trial was about impiety.
Another example is that Dr. Garland pictures medieval peasants as working long hours. Modern scholarship has shown that they generally worked much less than modern people work although they did work long hours (probably 40 - 48 hours per week) during planting and harvest seasons.
Yet another example is when he discussed crossbowmen and longbowmen in his chapter on knights. Garland stated that crossbows had 3 times the range of longbows. The consensus among scholars is that longbows probably had a 3 to 2 range advantage during the 14th century (the time that Dr. Garland was discussing), and that crossbows probably had a 3 to 2 advantage in the 15th century. The main advantage of the crossbow is that it required less training, and the main advantage of the longbow is it's higher rate of fire (which Garland did get right).
I have been very happy with most Great Courses, and the topic for this one is excellent, but I don't know whether or not to believe most of the things that Garland said. If have purchased Great Courses by professors Fagan, McInerny, Daileader, and Armstrong for this time period, and they were all wonderful.
"
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
78sman
Detroit
Top 500 Contributor
PDNY, Thanks for Your Comments
Posted June 21, 2015
PDNY, thanks for indicating that my review was confusing. I will clarify things.
1. The writings of Plato and Xenophon both indicate that Socrates showed contempt for democracy, and that he preferred the governments of Sparta and Crete to that of Athens. For example, Socrates indicates in Memorabilia that the role of the people is to obey. Xenophon indicated that Socrates’ accusers said that he taught his students to look down on democracy and that he made them violent. Most of Socrates' students. With the exception of Chaersphon, were strongly opposed to democracy. Aeschines indicated that Socrates was put to death because he was the teacher of Critias, the leader of the 30 tyrants.
2. We each made mistakes. In fact, Critias, the leader of the 30 tyrants, was Plato’s cousin. I also mixed up Thrysabulus (democratic leader in Athens) with Theramenes (middle class leader, who was assassinated by Critias’ henchmen). Socrates followers had been intimidating Athenians long before the 30 tyrants came to power. Aristophanes has references to the Socratized youth who went around with clubs. Thucydides indicated that the democratic leader, Androcles, was assassinated by the secret clubs, and that those clubs spread terror through Athens before the Democratic government was overthrown in 411. The Democracy was overthrown again in 404 by the 30 tyrants although the 30 tyrants certainly needed the Spartans to stay in power. Aristotle indicates that 1,500 Athenians were murdered by the 30 tyrants. At the end of his trial, Socrates indicated that he had restrained the secret clubs, and that things would get worse after his death. Socrates was probably not a member of the secret clubs, but he certainly had connections with them.
3. The concept of atheism is foreign to Greek pagan religion. If the Athenians had been worried about atheism, then they would have charged Euripides and Aristophanes with atheism instead of awarding them prizes for their plays. There are many instances of Socrates showing contempt for artisans and free speech, which is what Hephaestus and Athena represented for Athens.
+1point
2out of 3found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
PDNY
NY
Posted June 19, 2015
I didn't hear Garland's lecture/s on the Trial of Socrates, but your own account is confused and misleading. 1) "Soc. had a long history of opposing democracy." Our sources being limited to early dialogues of Plato, Xenophon (and Aristophanes' spoof which was no help to Socrates), it is unclear what kind of "long history of opposition" you have traced in these texts. He certainly criticized politicians (not just democratic but in general and at an abstract level) for wielding power in the name of wisdom they did not--in his estimation-- have. He was not proposing any social doctrine (as Plato did later on), but he said that choosing leaders by lots rather than merits and skills is problematic, as lots are arbitrary and don't distinguish between effective and incompetent leaders. This, in hindsight, has been a contribution to all subsequent theories of democracy which have addressed issues of qualifications and legitamacy. At any rate, pointing out a deficiency in a system and opposing a political doctrine are not the same. It would, though, be accurate to say that Miletus and Antyus, his accusers, probably *believed* that he was a threat to the weak restored democracy they were fighting for. Were they right? Literature on this divides along many lines of interpretation. You do not make any interpretive argument but baldly assert his "long history of opposition to democracy"(i.e. the Polis in which he lived, for which he fought in 3 battles, and whose free speech protected his chosen vocation-- Spartans would never tolerate the likes of a Socrates and he knew it).
2) More important, there are plain historical errors in your account of the 30 tyrants. They did not "put themselves into power" but were imposed by the victorious Spartans (in particular Lysander who oversaw their formation and to whom they were answerable). Their leader was not Crito but Critias-- totally separate entities! Critias (not Crito) was Plato's uncle and had associated with Socrates which, for some, had the effect of calling Socrates reputation into question. On the other hand, Socrates only failed to obey superiors on one occasion we know of, and this was when he defied an order given to him by the 30 tyrants. There's no reason to assume he approved of their regime (he was no defender of tyranny which is based on the "might makes right" arguments he so strongly opposed). It is simply irresponsible to state that "Socrates' followers overthrew democracy using assassination and intimidation" and that they killed the pro-democracy general Thrasybulus who actually died much later in battle in 388, long after Socrates' trial and in no way a victim of "Socratic assassins" or some such nonsense. So, names and timelines are off among others. I also doubt Garland is unaware of Antyus since he (and Miletus) is the main accuser of Soc. in The Apology ( and the Xenephon version too). Even cliff notes would have to include him.
I could go on to discuss the issue of the gods as you describe it (with the class issues and all). Instead, maybe you can provide citations regarding Socrates saying anything critical about Athena and/or Haphaestus. The accusation regarding Socrates' relation to the gods led Miletus into a thicket of contradictions in a famous section of Apology as I recall. As for artisans and craftsmen, Socrates admired them because they knew how to do and produce things with excellence (arete) as opposed to most politicians who had no similar skills in the domain of governing ( i.e. Socrates' classic"Craft Analogy") Carpenters know how to make good tables, but politicians do not have any special knowledge for producing good city-states, says Soc. The argument is not aimed at any particular class or constitution, but alleges that they all fall short because the problem is "ignorant opinion" (doxa) and lack of knowledge (episteme) which is not confined to a city or a class or occupation. Finally, he claims no such political knowledge for himself, but only the humility to acknowledge his own ignorance (Socratic Paradox) which is no basis for any coherent "opposition" movement with "followers of Socrates" carrying out some anti-democratic ideology or program as you seem to suggest.
+5points
7out of 9found this comment helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Course Content
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arkansas
Good storyteller, but mostly basic information
Date:June 13, 2015
" The presenter was a good storyteller and was not distracting as he paced during the lecture. Much of the information was very basic and generalized. It was the type of information you might learn from a middle grade book on Egypt, Greece, Roman, or the Middle Ages. He was a little more nuanced and detailed about the Greek information.
However, unlike those middle grade books, these lectures seriously lacked in illustrations. Instead of putting up pictures of things that might not be familiar (like the music instruments), they just put up the list of words as he said them. This was a lecture series where you would not miss much if you only listened to it.
Also, I was expecting information on daily life: how did they cook, what did they eat, what did they wear, and that sort of thing. This was about various roles or jobs: what would it have been like to be a slave, a woman, a soldier, etc. It was about their rights, opportunities, obligations, and such. How the various classes related to each other. The few bits about daily life were about rich people: how they relaxed, for example.
I would have gotten more value for my money by buying books on the topic. I've already read many books and watched many educational programs about these time periods, and at times I knew more about the topic than the lecturer apparently did. Disappointed. "
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rayyear
Cincinnati
Now as good as I expected
Posted July 23, 2015
I have gone through several Great Courses and expected more of this course. I agree that he is a great teacher and is a wonderful storyteller, but there were many times that I found myself bored with the material. I found that many times I thought that he was almost forced to making up material so that it became almost fiction. I understand that the knowledge of many of the periods is scant, but somehow I expected more information on the issues of daily life for the ordinary people. I did not find what life was really like for the common person the way I was hoping. I found that the period on England from the Roman period on was the most interesting, perhaps because there is more material available for that period of history. I enjoyed the course, but it was not what I expected. It was just not as detailed on the life of the average person's life as the title of the course advertises.
+2points
2out of 2found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Review 7 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Course Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York
Very irritating
Date:June 7, 2015
" Professor Garland should stick to facts and use "I" a lot less. He should also recognize he is not a natural comic - far from it. "
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, New York
excellent course
Date:May 23, 2015
" I have almost twenty Great Courses dvd sets, and this set of lectures is as good as the best of the others (Fears, Tuck, Noble, Fagan, McInerney, Vandiver, Stern, Harl, etc.) Prof Garland's way of lecturing grew on me, and after a while I didn't even mind the Great Courses new (silly & odd) way of asking their professors to lecture walking back and forth, because Prof. Garland made everything he said interesting. (Proof that the professors shouldn't be made to walk back and forth are the ten-star courses of Fears, Tuck's Experiencing Rome, Fagan's History of Ancient Rome, Noble's Western Civilization, McInerney, etc.: those courses prove how fascinating the lecturer at a podium can be simply through his/her enthusiasm and expertise. (*note: the only time a lecturer in any Great Course fails to be interesting is when they are obviously reading their lecture off a teleprompter: THAT is fatal.)
Prof Garland, in short, does a great job with this great course... "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Randle, WA
Interesting
Date:May 23, 2015
" Professor Garland attempts a different approach in looking at history. The goal is to view History from the standpoint of the "man is the street", not the movers and shakers of recorded history. As he moves through various historical periods he is constantly returning to this theme, which he calls "the other side of history". His efforts are commendable, and to a degree successful. However, as he himself notes, there are often few if any records; written, archeological, or anthropological on which to draw. He does yeoman work in an effort to ferret out details from the clues that have been left behind. This brings me to the biggest problem of the course. Usually with little to go on, the details of these lives gets sketchy. And as a result different times, different cultures, and different people all start sounding suspiciously similar. His goal is a good one, and he has laid down a good beginning. I hope the groundwork he had laid will be picked up and given more depth, as "the other side of history" is examined in greater historical detail. Although Prof G doesn't quite reach the high goal he set for the course, it is well worth the time a effort to study these 48 lectures. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valdosta, Ga.
excellent view of ancient life
Date:May 3, 2015
" I'll keep this short since so much has already been said. I love this course and presentation. It's fascinating to stroll through history, even when history depicts life that is often cruel and harsh. The presenter does a good job too. I think, though, that this would have been just as good in Audio format. Yes, there are some photos of art, maps, ruins, etc, but not really essential to the whole presentation, in my opinion. If I did this again, I'd opt for Audio only. "
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Content
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Professor Presentation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hollywood, CA
Superficial facts without understanding
Date:March 26, 2015
" I love the Great Courses and have reviewed many. This course is the first that has been a discouragement from beginning to end. This is the most superficial presentation of bias facts without understanding. It is pompous wit without wisdom. It is dilettante academics without depp knowledge. It may be that Robert tried to cover too much that was too similar with the politics of envy trying to hook the uninitiate. Even so, it needs to be completely revised. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-14points
10out of 34found this review helpful.
Response from The Teaching Company:By Customer CareMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback. This is indeed a different approach vs. many other courses. As a longtime customer, I'm sure you are familiar with The Great Courses 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. I hope you will call us at 800-832-2412, and one of our associates will recommend a replacement or offer a full refund. Thanks again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ninapinta1936
Chicago
Dilettante academics without DEPP ??
Posted June 2, 2015
A review without ability to spell could be added to this harsh and arrogant review (in my "uneducated opinion…horrors !! It is pompous wit ??? It may be ROBERT ? first name basis ??? Of course,
if this professor is a personal friend ……. Seriously, this review is criticism without foundation in that the reviewer has not presented any credentials to back up his comments. But, this being the land of the free and home of the brave…. this "reviewer" will not be arrested by the some government agency for failing to write a coherent review.
+6points
7out of 8found this comment helpful.
Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Review 12 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life in the Ancient World
Date:March 24, 2015
" I enjoyed the course immensely and would recommend it to anyone interested in the ancient world. But I have one complaint that applies to many of the DVDs I get. "Why am I watching a DVD that mainly consists of watching a professor walking around talking." The course should be mostly pictures or videos, not a person talking. I could just get it as an audio. If you are going to make a course a DVD then make it mostly visual. "
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sharon, PA
Excellent course!
Date:March 10, 2015
" I am enjoying The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World. You can't just watch one lecture, you find yourself watching 2 or 3 in one sitting. I also appreciate the Course Guidebook being included. The professor's presentation makes it seem like you're right there. I look forward to more courses by professor Robert Garland. He is 5 star in my book! Thank you Great Courses for these wonderful offerings in lifelong learning.. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspirational
Date:March 5, 2015
" I am very moved to express my deepest appreciation of Dr. Garland's wit and wisdom that I experienced during his 48 lectures video recorded by The Great Courses entitled "The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World".
While my particular interest lies in the American Adventure of 1820-1870, I enjoy embracing all matters of human history with great appetite. I have enjoyed many purchases of these courses, and have experienced the shear rapture of expanding my knowledge base by the expertise of many outstanding professors.
This course is exemplary among this elite. He made the lives of The Common Folk actually come undeniably alive. I am so grateful for this experience, and will most definitely view our ancestors with a keener appreciation.
I was truly sorry that it was over, and will view it over and over.
Thank you. Well done. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
The Common People
Date:February 28, 2015
" Prof Garland does a great job of presenting the life of the ordinary people in the ancient world. How they were born, lived, worked and died with family friends and state. Those who produced the food and artifacts, but who did not get their names placed on the great works. "
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Date:February 12, 2015
" I have really enjoyed this course. Would strongly recommend it to others "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic DVD
Date:February 12, 2015
" An excellent presenter, knowledgable and engaging. A true educator. Not boring at all. The presenter puts his audience into the shoes of those he is describing, e.g. the Roman woman or the Greek poor. I also appreciated his witty sidebars. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sharon, PA
Wonderful course!
Date:February 10, 2015
" The course is so interesting that you can't stop watching it. Professor Garland is excellent ! His presentation style is first class! He makes you forget you are learning. Please have him present more courses. Thank you for offering this course. I'm sure I will be purchasing courses for years to come. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, NY
Best Great Course on history in history
Date:January 26, 2015
" Amazing. Every lecture is packed with the kind of insights and discoveries that make you want to sit down and listen again. And I'd listen to Prof. Garland read the phone book - love is style and his sense of humor. "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Very Enlightening Course
Date:January 20, 2015
" I am enjoying this course immensely. I am interested in every aspect of history and am delighted to see this kind of course being offered. Professor Garland knows the subject well and presents it well. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>