Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World

<p>Take this chance to get beyond the abstract dates and figures, kings and queens, and battles and wars that make up so many historical accounts in <strong>The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World</strong>. In 48 richly detailed lectures, Professor Robert Garland of Colgate University covers the breadth and depth of human history from the perspective of the so-called ordinary people, from its earliest beginnings through the Middle Ages. The past truly comes alive in this ambitious course, as Professor Garland takes a series of imaginative leaps to put you inside the world of history's anonymous citizens, providing you with a fuller understanding of the distant past. </p>
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
"89 of 101(88%)reviewers would recommend the course to a friend."
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Review 1 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, New York
excellent course
Date:May 23, 2015
" I have almost twenty Great Courses dvd sets, and this set of lectures is as good as the best of the others (Fears, Tuck, Noble, Fagan, McInerney, Vandiver, Stern, Harl, etc.) Prof Garland's way of lecturing grew on me, and after a while I didn't even mind the Great Courses new (silly & odd) way of asking their professors to lecture walking back and forth, because Prof. Garland made everything he said interesting. (Proof that the professors shouldn't be made to walk back and forth are the ten-star courses of Fears, Tuck's Experiencing Rome, Fagan's History of Ancient Rome, Noble's Western Civilization, McInerney, etc.: those courses prove how fascinating the lecturer at a podium can be simply through his/her enthusiasm and expertise. (*note: the only time a lecturer in any Great Course fails to be interesting is when they are obviously reading their lecture off a teleprompter: THAT is fatal.)
Prof Garland, in short, does a great job with this great course... "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Randle, WA
Interesting
Date:May 23, 2015
" Professor Garland attempts a different approach in looking at history. The goal is to view History from the standpoint of the "man is the street", not the movers and shakers of recorded history. As he moves through various historical periods he is constantly returning to this theme, which he calls "the other side of history". His efforts are commendable, and to a degree successful. However, as he himself notes, there are often few if any records; written, archeological, or anthropological on which to draw. He does yeoman work in an effort to ferret out details from the clues that have been left behind. This brings me to the biggest problem of the course. Usually with little to go on, the details of these lives gets sketchy. And as a result different times, different cultures, and different people all start sounding suspiciously similar. His goal is a good one, and he has laid down a good beginning. I hope the groundwork he had laid will be picked up and given more depth, as "the other side of history" is examined in greater historical detail. Although Prof G doesn't quite reach the high goal he set for the course, it is well worth the time a effort to study these 48 lectures. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valdosta, Ga.
excellent view of ancient life
Date:May 3, 2015
" I'll keep this short since so much has already been said. I love this course and presentation. It's fascinating to stroll through history, even when history depicts life that is often cruel and harsh. The presenter does a good job too. I think, though, that this would have been just as good in Audio format. Yes, there are some photos of art, maps, ruins, etc, but not really essential to the whole presentation, in my opinion. If I did this again, I'd opt for Audio only. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Content
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Professor Presentation
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Course Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hollywood, CA
Superficial facts without understanding
Date:March 26, 2015
" I love the Great Courses and have reviewed many. This course is the first that has been a discouragement from beginning to end. This is the most superficial presentation of bias facts without understanding. It is pompous wit without wisdom. It is dilettante academics without depp knowledge. It may be that Robert tried to cover too much that was too similar with the politics of envy trying to hook the uninitiate. Even so, it needs to be completely revised. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-5points
8out of 21found this review helpful.
Response from The Teaching Company:By Customer CareMarch 27, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback. This is indeed a different approach vs. many other courses. As a longtime customer, I'm sure you are familiar with The Great Courses 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. I hope you will call us at 800-832-2412, and one of our associates will recommend a replacement or offer a full refund. Thanks again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life in the Ancient World
Date:March 24, 2015
" I enjoyed the course immensely and would recommend it to anyone interested in the ancient world. But I have one complaint that applies to many of the DVDs I get. "Why am I watching a DVD that mainly consists of watching a professor walking around talking." The course should be mostly pictures or videos, not a person talking. I could just get it as an audio. If you are going to make a course a DVD then make it mostly visual. "
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sharon, PA
Excellent course!
Date:March 10, 2015
" I am enjoying The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World. You can't just watch one lecture, you find yourself watching 2 or 3 in one sitting. I also appreciate the Course Guidebook being included. The professor's presentation makes it seem like you're right there. I look forward to more courses by professor Robert Garland. He is 5 star in my book! Thank you Great Courses for these wonderful offerings in lifelong learning.. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspirational
Date:March 5, 2015
" I am very moved to express my deepest appreciation of Dr. Garland's wit and wisdom that I experienced during his 48 lectures video recorded by The Great Courses entitled "The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World".
While my particular interest lies in the American Adventure of 1820-1870, I enjoy embracing all matters of human history with great appetite. I have enjoyed many purchases of these courses, and have experienced the shear rapture of expanding my knowledge base by the expertise of many outstanding professors.
This course is exemplary among this elite. He made the lives of The Common Folk actually come undeniably alive. I am so grateful for this experience, and will most definitely view our ancestors with a keener appreciation.
I was truly sorry that it was over, and will view it over and over.
Thank you. Well done. "
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
The Common People
Date:February 28, 2015
" Prof Garland does a great job of presenting the life of the ordinary people in the ancient world. How they were born, lived, worked and died with family friends and state. Those who produced the food and artifacts, but who did not get their names placed on the great works. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Date:February 12, 2015
" I have really enjoyed this course. Would strongly recommend it to others "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic DVD
Date:February 12, 2015
" An excellent presenter, knowledgable and engaging. A true educator. Not boring at all. The presenter puts his audience into the shoes of those he is describing, e.g. the Roman woman or the Greek poor. I also appreciated his witty sidebars. "
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sharon, PA
Wonderful course!
Date:February 10, 2015
" The course is so interesting that you can't stop watching it. Professor Garland is excellent ! His presentation style is first class! He makes you forget you are learning. Please have him present more courses. Thank you for offering this course. I'm sure I will be purchasing courses for years to come. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rochester, NY
Best Great Course on history in history
Date:January 26, 2015
" Amazing. Every lecture is packed with the kind of insights and discoveries that make you want to sit down and listen again. And I'd listen to Prof. Garland read the phone book - love is style and his sense of humor. "
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sterling Heights, MI
Very Enlightening Course
Date:January 20, 2015
" I am enjoying this course immensely. I am interested in every aspect of history and am delighted to see this kind of course being offered. Professor Garland knows the subject well and presents it well. "
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Great Look at Alternative History
Date:January 4, 2015
" My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed this look at the "other side of history", which explores what life was like for ordinary people in the ancient and medieval worlds, with particular focus on the ancestors of modern Britons. The lectures give fascinating new insights even into civilizations that I thought I knew well, giving much information that one will not find in standard books. I was particularly intrigued by the personal anecdotes the lecturer told about archeological objects he had seen and his impressions of the people who made them. "
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sioux City Iowa
Daily life in the ancient world comes to life!
Date:January 1, 2015
" This professor is OUTSTANDING- his presentation, knowledge and methods of making one "feel" part of the story of the regular people of the ancients is amazing. He is fabulous, I think- love the slips of British humor as well Super course.... "
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:A small midwestern city
Fascinating perspective, tales well told
Date:December 28, 2014
" I listen in bits and pieces, mostly on weekend drives to an outdoor volunteer job an hour from home. I can just about do 2 lectures each way, and I thoroughly enjoy them. Each stands alone nicely, which is helpful when there is a week or more between sessions, but the sequence works. The information is clear, interesting, clearly connected to artifacts/documents/sources, general but with enough specific examples and parallels to today to be vivid. Lecturer's voice is clear, strong, well enunciated, well paced. I have not yet finished this course, but the perspectives of "daily life" seem to reflect a broad sample, sensitive to gender and class differences, accommodating fairly the fact that "ordinary people" left fewer artifacts and documents than did the rich and famous...I understand that we can't cover everything, but my only quibble is that "ancient world" doesn't include at least a small detour into other ancient cultures for comparison, perhaps Mexico, China, or North America. But it's a good read. Highly recommended. "
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
My favorite.
Date:December 15, 2014
" All of the lectures I've purchased to this date are excellent. However this one is my favorite. The professor is passionate, full of information and simply very insightful. As an art history professor myself I must admit I am in awe of how articulate and engaging this lecturer is - a real conjurer of sorts. The lectures made history seem alive and relevant without the moralizing tendencies we so often see in Hollywood movies dealing with ancient history. I highly recommend this series. "
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Content
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Professor Presentation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Course Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:east amherst ny
The Other Side of History - interesting insights
Date:December 15, 2014
" This course is exactly as described, a chronological glimpse of daily life in various ancient and medieval societies. The professor's presentation is well-paced and comprehensive. His thorough knowledge of the subject is apparent. "
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Joplin, MO
An interesting and different focus on history
Date:October 24, 2014
" Having a number of Great Courses on the ancient world I was not sure how much I would get out of this course but I found it quite enjoyable. The presenter has an interesting manner of presentation (I had already watched his course on the Integrated History of Greece and Rome) and he managed to hold my attention well. From the earliest days of mankind (and its predecessors) through the middle ages he looks at history from the eyes of the ordinary person rather than historical figures and while I had my doubts about the approach I did find the course very worthwhile. One aspect I thought of particular interest was how and why Christianity spread through the polytheistic pagan world. I thought he made a persuasive case. While the course focuses not on the great figures of history they are not ignored, nor can they be as they affected the daily life of the average (or above or below average) person. So in one sense this course is something of an overview of western civilization through the middle ages. And it is western civilization that is the focus of the course, not the far east although the middle east comes in for its share of discussion. Whether you have watched a number of the Great Courses on the ancient world or this is one of your first this course and its approach is very worthwhile and I can recommend it.
Many of the Great Courses work best in video and while there are graphics and maps and other visuals included in the course it would likely work well in audio only if you happen to be one who likes listening to these courses when traveling or commuting. "
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Other Side of History: Daily Life in the Ancient World
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Content
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professor Presentation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Course Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Possibly my favorite
Date:October 17, 2014
" We really enjoyed this course. It is, of course, hard to compare this to, say, the course we took on geology which we really loved or the one on the history of architecture, since the content of each is quite different, but this course was really most interesting. Two things mark a truly great Great Course for my hub and me. One is that we find ourselves saying, "I didn't know that!" a lot and the other is a really good prof.
Dr. Garland's presentation is well organized, thorough, interesting, easy to follow and clearly reflects his passion for his subject. He has a nice sense of humor and a good "presence" in addition to a clear mastery of his topic.
There is nothing I love more in a course or a book or in our travels than the opportunity to understand how life was in other times and places. This course was perfect for me. Thank you, Dr. Garland and Great Courses! This was one of my faves. "
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>